IU Historical Marker Program

Historical Marker Committee

This committee is appointed by the University Historian and is comprised of approximately 15 voting faculty members and five ex officio members who will assist the University Historian with evaluating nominations, conducting research, determining historical marker locations, and writing historical marker text.

  • James Capshew, University Historian (Chair)
  • DeLoice Holliday, Multicultural Outreach Librarian, Neal Marshal Black Culture Center, IUB
  • Jack Tharp, Vice Chancellor and Dean of Students Emeritus, IUK
  • Joanne Passet, Professor, School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering, IUB
  • Linda Fariss, Director, Law Library, IUB
  • James Madison, Professor Emeritus, Department of History, IUB
  • Simon Atkinson, Vice Chancellor for Research, IUPUI
  • Anya Royce, Chancellors Professor, Department of Anthropology, IUB
  • Paul Helmke, Director, Civic Leaders Center SPEA, IUB
  • Gerald Bepko, Chancellor Emeritus, IUPUI
  • Bonnie Brownlee, Professor Emeritus, Media School, IUB
  • Patrick Furlong, Professor Emeritus, Department of History, IUSB
  • Bob Barrows, Professor Emeritus, Department of History, IUPUI

Nominate a topic for a historical marker

You are welcome to nominate topic(s) to be considered for an IU Historical Marker. Before nominating a topic for a historical marker, review the program’s policy. Other avenues of recognition should be pursued before nominating a topic for a historical marker. This includes university alumni awards, faculty recognition awards, honorary degrees for living individuals, internal and external facility names, and other university recognition programs.

Nomination Deadline
August 24, 2018
January 11, 2019
May 3, 2019
August 30, 2019
January 10, 2020
May 1, 2020 (Submit by this date if you want the marker dedicated during the Bicentennial Era)
August 28, 2020
January 15, 2021

Submit a nomination

Go to the nomination form