IU names Bicentennial Professors, sets goal of faculty presentations in all 92 Indiana counties

By Brittany Terwilliger

The Indiana University Office of the Bicentennial has named 25 Bicentennial Professors, whose appointments were approved by the IU Board of Trustees at its December meeting.

IU's Bicentennial Professorships program is part of the university's continued commitment to public outreach and community engagement. Each Bicentennial Professor will travel around the state delivering public presentations at community forums that describe -- in an engaging and accessible manner -- some of their research or professional activities.

Speaking engagements will be arranged by the Office of the Bicentennial in cooperation with Indiana community leaders, with the aim of reaching all of Indiana's 92 counties. Bicentennial Professors come from every IU campus.

"In the late 1800s, Indiana University began to expand its educational mission beyond the Bloomington campus, and IU faculty traveled to all parts of the state to provide Indiana residents with lectures on art, science, the professions and medicine," IU President Michael A. McRobbie said. "Today IU reaches all parts of Indiana though its many campuses and facilities and also reaches a global audience through IU Online. As part of its bicentennial celebrations in 2019-20, IU will be reviving this earlier tradition of fulfilling our public mission by connecting directly with Hoosiers all across our state."

Bicentennial Professors were nominated through an open call for nominations in spring 2018, reviewed and recommended by the IU executive vice presidents, chancellors and deans, and approved by McRobbie and the Board of Trustees.

IU's Bicentennial Professors are:

  • William Allegrezza, associate professor of English in the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Northwest.
  • Shahzeen Z. Attari, associate professor of public and environmental affairs in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs at IU Bloomington.
  • Rachel A. Blumenthal, assistant professor of English in the School of Humanities and Social Sciences at IU Kokomo.
  • Stephen L. Boehm II, professor of psychology in the School of Science at IUPUI.
  • Virginia A. Caine, associate professor of medicine in the IU School of Medicine.
  • W. Graham Carlos, associate professor of clinical medicine in the IU School of Medicine.
  • Aaron E. Carroll, associate dean for research mentoring and professor of pediatrics in the IU School of Medicine; director of the Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute's Career Development, Education and Research Training Program; and vice president for faculty development at the Regenstrief Institute.
  • Serafín M. Coronel-Molina, associate professor of literacy, culture and language education in the School of Education at IU Bloomington.
  • Robert M. Einterz, associate dean for global health, the Donald E. Brown Professor of Global Health, professor of clinical medicine in the IU School of Medicine, and director of the Indiana University Center for Global Health.
  • Janine M. Fogel, assistant professor of clinical family medicine and medical director of the Transgender Health and Wellness Program in the IU School of Medicine.
  • Melissa S. Fry, associate professor of sociology and director of the Applied Research and Education Center in the School of Social Sciences at IU Southeast.
  • Justin R. Garcia, the Ruth N. Halls Associate Professor of Gender Studies in the College of Arts and Sciences and research director of the Kinsey Institute at IU Bloomington.
  • Julie Goodspeed-Chadwick, professor of English and director of the Office of Student Research in the Division of Liberal Arts at IUPUC.
  • Richard Gunderman, Chancellor's Professor of Radiology, Pediatrics, Medical Education, Philosophy, Liberal Arts, Philanthropy, and Medical Humanities and Health Science in the School of Liberal Arts at IUPUI and the John A. Campbell Professor of Radiology in the IU School of Medicine.
  • Susan B. Hyatt, professor of anthropology in the School of Liberal Arts at IUPUI.
  • Hilary Kahn, assistant dean for international education and global initiatives, director of the Center for the Study of Global Change and senior lecturer in the Hamilton Lugar School of Global and International Studies at IU Bloomington.
  • Jon Kay, clinical associate professor of folklore and ethnomusicology in the College of Arts and Sciences, director of Traditional Arts Indiana and interim director of the Mathers Museum of World Cultures at IU Bloomington.
  • Parul Khurana, associate professor of biology in the School of Natural Science and Mathematics at IU East.
  • April Lidinsky, associate professor and director of women's and gender studies in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at IU South Bend.
  • E. Angeles Martínez Mier, professor and chair of cariology, operative dentistry and dental public health in the School of Dentistry at IUPUI.
  • Beth Meyerson, associate professor of health policy and management and co-director of the Rural Center for AIDS/STD Prevention in the IU School of Public Health-Bloomington.
  • Victor D. Quintanilla, professor of law and co-director of the Center for Law, Society and Culture in the Maurer School of Law at IU Bloomington.
  • Frank Sullivan Jr., professor of practice in the Robert H. McKinney School of Law at IUPUI.
  • Paul M. Wallach, executive associate dean for educational affairs and institutional improvement, the Dolores and John Read Professor of Medical Education and professor of medicine in the IU School of Medicine.
  • Charlotte Westerhaus-Renfrow, clinical assistant professor of management and business in the Kelley School of Business at IUPUI.

Indiana University was founded on Jan. 20, 1820, making it one of the oldest public universities in the nation. To celebrate its bicentennial, IU has developed a multiyear, multicampus program that will recognize and chronicle IU history, showcase the university's significant contributions to the world and set a course for the next century. For more information about the bicentennial program, visit 200.iu.edu.

 Read the full story