Bicentennial Medal

Honoring Distinguished and Distinctive Service

Leave your mark on IU history by designing the Bicentennial Medal and nominating individuals for the award. The Bicentennial Medal is awarded to individuals who through their personal, professional, artistic, or philanthropic efforts have broadened the reach of Indiana University to people, audiences, and places around the world. It honors distinguished and distinctive service, broadly defined, in support of Indiana University’s mission as a public university.

Nominations and Awards

Nominations for the medal will open on January 20, 2018 (Founders Day) and close on January 20, 2019. A formal nomination form will be available on this website beginning Founders Day 2018. In Spring 2019, an honorary selection committee will make recommendations to the President of Indiana University for final approval. The medals will be awarded to recipients during the Bicentennial Celebratory Academic Year of 2019-2020. The medal will be presented at the Bicentennial Opening Weekend September 26-28, 2019, Bicentennial Founders Day January 20, 2020, the Bicentennial Gala on June 6, 2020, and other official events during that school year.

Design and Competition

Modeled on the State of Indiana Bicentennial Medal, the Indiana University Centennial Medal, and existing presidential medals given by IU, the Office of the Bicentennial is hosting a design context that is open to the public. One side of the medal will feature the university seal, while the other will feature a unique design submitted to the Office. The medal will comprised of metals from the old Student Building bells that burned in a campus fire in 1990. The design competition will open on Founders Day, January 20, 2018 and close on IU Day, April 18, 2018. The winning design will be announced during the fall 2018 semester.