Bicentennial Medal

Honoring Distinguished and Distinctive Service

The Bicentennial Medal is awarded to organizations and individuals who, through their personal, professional, artistic, or philanthropic efforts, have broadened the reach of Indiana University around the state, nation, and world. It honors distinguished and distinctive service, broadly defined, in support of Indiana University’s mission as a public university.

Nominations and Awards

Nominations for the medal will open in Spring 2019. A nomination form will be available on this website. A selection committee will review nominations and make recommendations to the President of Indiana University for final approval. The medals will be awarded during the 2019-2020 academic year, at the 200 Festival (September 26-28, 2019), Founders Day (January 20, 2020), the Bicentennial Alumni Reunion (June 1-6, 2020), and other official events.

Design and Competition

The deadline to submit a design for the Bicentennial Medal was April 18, 2018. Unfortunately, we are no longer accepting submissions. 


  • MaryEllen Bishop, Indiana University Trustee (Chair)
  • Laurie Burns McRobbie, First Lady, Indiana University
  • Peg Faimon, Founding Dean, School of Art, Architecture + Design, IUB
  • Barry Gealt, Fine-Arts Professor Emeritus, IUB
  • Marvin Curtis, Dean, Raclin School of the Arts, IUSB
  • Kathy Z. Anderson, Chair, Indiana Arts Commission
  • Cory Robinson, Professor, Herron School of Art and Design, IUPUI
  • Joel Washington, Artist, Indiana Memorial Union, IUB
  • Gabriel Mo, MFA Student, School of Art, Architecture + Design, IUB
  • Haley Francis-Halstead, Student, Herron School of Art and Design, IUPUI