IU Press Director Gary Dunham Receives the Bicentennial Medal

Congratulations to our Director, Gary Dunham, for being selected to receive the Bicentennial Medal.

The Bicentennial Medal is awarded to organizations and individuals who, through their personal, professional, artistic, or philanthropic efforts, have broadened the reach of Indiana University around the state, nation, and world. The Bicentennial Medal honors distinguished and distinctive service, broadly defined, in support of Indiana University’s mission as a public university, individuals who have enlarged the footprint of IU, or have helped to put IU on the map in unique ways. Those receiving the Bicentennial Medal should be seen as models for future students, faculty, alumni, and organizations to emulate as IU enters its third century.

In awarding the medal to Gary, Indiana University President, Michael A. McRobbie, said: “I want to take a moment to honor Gary for his superb leadership of IU Press—and for his invaluable contributions to promoting Indiana University’s history through his guidance of the books that have been published in conjunction with our Bicentennial.”

Dunham has helmed the publication of over 20 titles in the Well House Books series that have celebrated Indiana University’s Bicentennial. Several of these titles have been acknowledged by national awards, including most recently, Darlene Sadlier’s, The Lilly Library from A to Z, which was recently named as the Coffee Table Book of the Year in the 22nd annual Foreword Indies Book of the Year Awards.

“The members of the IU Press team are very proud to have Gary Dunham as our Director. His dedication to Indiana University is represented in the books the Press has published on the history and accomplishments of the schools, faculty, and staff of this great institution. Congratulations to Gary on his accomplishments!” – Dave Hulsey, Associate Director

Read the story from IU Press